Book Review: Feeling Naked on the First Tee

Feeling Naked on the First Tee

I love to read.  Other than sleeping, it’s my favorite hobby. So when I started playing golf I thought, I’ll find myself some good golf books. That’ll be fun.  And off I went to Amazon to browse the book department. I wanted something that would give me tips and make me a better golfer immediately.  This is the age of instant gratification. What can I say?  I browsed the endless list of books until I found Ann Kelly’s Feeling Naked on the First Tee: An Essential Guide for New Women Golfers.   The description promised me that “Feeling Naked on the First Tee explains
parts of the game that other golf books don’t talk about, in language the beginner can understand.”  And I was all, Great! It’s going to teach me to be the next Tiger Woods in laymen’s terms!  I hurriedly clicked the Buy Now button and anxiously awaited its arrival.  I couldn’t have been more disappointed.

I expected the book to be a go-to guide if I had questions on the golf course—rules, suggestions, tips, that sort of thing because it includes the phrase “On the First Tee”. But it’s written for someone who has never stepped on a golf course before.  It’s for someone who knows absolutely nothing about the sport.  So the title is misleading.  If you don’t know what a tee box is, you don’t need to be standing one, holding a club, or attempting to hit the ball.  You could injure yourself or someone else or break a nail or something!  This book tells you what you should wear, how to make a tee time, and explains the most basic aspects of a golf course (fairways, greens, tees, etc.).  Why on Earth would you be standing on the first tee if you don’t have any idea what equipment you should be using or what you should be wearing?  The title should be You’ve Never Seen Anything About Golf in Your Entire Life but Randomly Decided to Give it a Go.

I read this 69 page book in about an hour.  There was not one single thing in the book that I didn’t already know and I’ve only played a few rounds of golf.  My five year old son already knows everything discussed in this book.  It doesn’t make sense to me to write a book with such basic information.  Honestly, how many grown women just wake up one day and, though they know nothing about the sport, decide they’ll go out
and take lessons?  Can it really be a large enough number to make a profit printing this book?

Now I’m back to square one.  I’m reading a new golf book and it’s really interesting, so I’ll let you know what I think when I’m finished.
Have y’all read any good golf books lately?  I’d love to get a booklist started, so let me know.  I’ll read your favorites and tell you what I think!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Please let us know if you enjoyed this post.

