Being Judgemental on the Golf Course

Catching up on the internet after a weekend away is always a daunting task for me.   I try not to spend excessive time on the internet on the weekends because those days are reserved for relaxing, spending time with my family, and excavating Laundry Mountain which, if left unattended, threatens to take over our entire home, forcing us into the street.

That also makes it hard to narrow down a topic for the Monday morning post.  I know I could create a lot of posts at one time and schedule them, but I enjoy searching the net and finding interesting posts from that day.  It also means that I have a couple of hours a day, three days a week, in which I can ignore the laundry.

This morning  I came across a blog called 2 Kinds of People.  Each post compares two opposite types of people (leaders vs. followers, city people vs. country folk, etc.) The blog owner, Benny Morrison, wrote a p0st titled, “Those Who Will Give You a Short Putt and Those Who Will Make You Putt it Out.” Sheer curiosity about this comparison forced me to click on the link.  I’m glad I did.

Morrison’s post explores the idea that it is possible to judge a person’s character by whether or not they concede the last putt of a game.  Because golf is a gentleman’s game, short putts during match or stroke play should be conceded.  This is especially true on the last hole of the game; if you are not going to win, you should concede the putt. Morrison believes that if a putt is conceded, the player is of good character, humble, and kind.  Conversely, those who would not concede the last putt of a match are selfish, overly competitive, and often ostracize people in their own social circles.

This piqued my curiosity.  How many people believe that you can judge a person’s character by how they play golf?  Are there golfers out there who don’t believe this theory?   Can old ideals and social mores about golf, and more importantly, the age old stereotype of its players, still be considered true now that the game has expanded into other socioeconomic groups?  The game has expanded from higher classes into the middle classes and the times we live in are so different than when the rules of golf were first written and interpreted.  Should that change how a player’s attitude on the course is perceived?  Since kids are being raised in an environment more competitive than ever before, is it still accurate to say you can judge a person’s character by whether or not they concede a putt?

What do you think?

2 Comments

Filed under golf

2 responses to “Being Judgemental on the Golf Course

  1. Benny Morrison

    Thank you so much for the link and reference. My blog is not about golf at all, though playing the game was my passion in my youth. Because I played so much for so long, this was a very easy post to write in the 2 Kinds of People style. I’m really curious to see what others might think about my post who are still close to the game. Thanks again!

  2. I truly enjoyed your post, Benny. There is nothing better than a great post that makes you think outside the frame you normally would. I look forward to reading more of your comparisons in the future.

Please let us know if you enjoyed this post.

