Unseasonably Sunny in Mississippi

The weather we’re having is insanely warm for this time of year, and I’m increasingly afraid of the five months of the year when the weather is unbearably hot.  Most of my visions of the coming summer look a lot like I imagine hell does.  But today, sitting on the front porch with the sun shining and the huge billowy clouds floating lazily in the sky, I’m trying not to think about the 120 degree heat or the ridiculously high humidity that makes me feel like I’m breathing in the bottom of a hot tub, and enjoy the breeze and the sun and the sound of cars blazing down my residential street at 60 miles an hour.

I didn’t have time to get out to the golf course today (story of my life these days), but I wanted to get in a little chipping practice.  Other than the fact that I can’t get to the golf course, my yard is not a good spot to practice. So what did I do?  I did what any good, Southern, Duct Tape loving girl would!  I rigged myself up a little practice area in my driveway!

All it took was an old piece of carpet and my mop bucket.  What?  Stop looking at me like that! I am certainly not the first person to think of this, am I?! Wait…Ok. I Googled it.  I’m not.  So stop calling me a redneck!

Basically, any old piece of low to medium pile carpet will work to chip from–high pile carpet like shag or low pile carpet like Berber won’t be as close to the real thing.  I used a mop bucket, but an old 5 gallon paint bucket or whatever you use to wash the car will do.  The great thing about this method is that you can move the carpet around to practice from different distances AND you can practice anywhere–in the house, in the yard, in the driveway, in the middle of the road, on top of a moving train, Mt. Everest, I mean anywhere!  And when you’re done, you can just chuck the carpet and the bucket back into the shed with everything else you chuck in there and forget about for years at a time.

So that’s what I’m working on today–chipping.  How are you guys enjoying this beautiful springlike weather in February?

Leave a comment

Filed under Golf Humor, Tips and Instruction, Uncategorized

Please let us know if you enjoyed this post.

