Yani Tseng May Be the World’s Best Golfer

Image via Times Online

The weather plagued the field at the LPGA Founder’s Cupin Arizona last weekend, but rain, hail, and lightening didn’t stop Yani Tseng, who won the tournament by one stroke, earning her second title of the season.

The 24-year old golf phenom came back from a three stroke deficit to win the tournament.  She putted 40 feet for par to hold off Choi and Miyazato, her two closest competitors.

Three hours of weather delays meant Tseng would sink her winning putt over 8 hours after the leaders teed off.  She finished her round in the dark, sinking her last putt at 6:45pm. “Because of my eyes, I couldn’t see much of a distance, so I tried to keep to myself, ‘OK, just finish these few holes, just hit a good shot, good contact, play one shot at a time.’”

“I told myself, ‘We have nine more holes, OK, three shots back. You still have a good chance on the back nine. Just play like on the first day, try to make birdie every hole,’” Tseng said. “I played 7 under here before, so maybe I can do it again. I played 5 under, so it was pretty close.”

Leave a comment

Filed under golf, Golf News, LPGA Tour

Please let us know if you enjoyed this post.

